MPLAB ICD 4 Help Previous Next


Debugger Usage : Installation and Setup

Installation and Setup
Refer to the Help file “Getting Started with MPLAB X IDE” for details on installing the IDE and setting up the debugger to work with it.
In summary:
•
Install MPLAB X IDE.
(http://www.microchip.com/mplabx)
1.
A tutorial is available in the MPLAB X IDE online Help that is accessible from the main menu bar Help>Tool Help Contents>MPLAB X IDE Help.
2.
Connect the MPLAB ICD 4 to the computer and allow the default USB drivers to install. For more information on target connections, see “Operation”.
Note:
The debugger cannot power a target board. An external power supply must be used. See “Powering the Target Board”.
3.
Select which language toolsuite/compiler you want to use for development and install it on your computer.
4.
Launch MPLAB X IDE.
5.
Use the New Project wizard (File>New Project) to create a new project.
6.
Use the Project Properties dialog (File>Project Properties) to set up options.
7.
Use the Project Properties dialog (File/Project Properties<Hardware Tool>) to select the “ICD 4” tool and set up tool options for programming.
8.
Run the project (build and run) from Run>Run Project.
Items of note are:
1.
Each debugger contains a unique identifier which, when first installed, will be recognized by the operating system, regardless of which computer USB port is used.
2.
MPLAB X IDE operation connects to the hardware tool at runtime (Run or Debug Run). Configuration bits can only be viewed in the Configuration Bits window. To set them in code, select Window>PIC Memory Views. Then, select “Configuration Bits” from the Memory drop list, and select “Read/Write” from the Format drop list to enable access to the settings.

Previous Next Microchip Support
Help Updated: 2017-07-26 14:01:00Z
Help Page: 20